How to Make Your Own Personalized ShrinkyDinks

Sorry I haven’t done a blog in quite a while. I haven’t been reading my bible lately either. Let’s just say within two weeks, I’ve only read my bible one of those days. But I know I said I would only post one random blog (non-bible) a week, but I think I’ll just post what I feel like doing at the time. But I’ll make sure at least half of the month’s posts have to do with the bible and Christianity. So today lets talk about crafts, specifically shrinkydinks. I will teach you how to make your own, that way they can be unique and your own.

There are several kinds of shrinkydink paper including

  • rough one side, smooth other side
  • smooth both sides/crystal clear
  • white
  • other colors such as pink, red, etc.

My preference is rough one side, smooth the other, but it’s really up to you, after all it is supposed to be unique.

What you will need

  • shrinkydink paper
  • sharpies/permanent markers(optional)
  • colored pencils(optional)
  • paper with image/picture(optional)
  • scissors
  • paper bag
  • an oven
  • hot glue gun, cold glue gun, or super glue(optional)
  • pins(optional)
  • Hole punch(optional)
  • string/chain(optional)
  • charm clasps(optional)
  • Key rings(optional

This example uses rough-smooth paper. You can buy shrinky-dink paper at Walmart, Hobby Lobby, Michael’s,etc. Instructions will come with it.

  1. You can choose to use an image or freehand something. You will need to make the drawing big, because it will shrink down a lot. You can print a design off the computer or find something in a coloring book. If you do one of those, place the picture underneath the paper and trace the outline of it. If it is real detailed, I would suggest not making all of the details. But you can if you’d like.
  2. If you want to do a freehand drawing, take a look at a picture and look at the shrinky-dink that you made with it, so you will know the size that you will need to make your drawing.Use as much shrinky-dink paper as needed.
  3. Weather you draw freehand or use an image, this will be helpful. If you use sharpies try to use lighter colors, or not very many colors, because the color will be closer together, since they will be shrunk. If you want writing on the smooth side, you can write backwards on the rough side or  right ways on the smooth side. For the rough side, do the opposite, backwards smooth, or right ways rough. Same as looking into a mirror.
  4. When you are happy with the design, color it in.
  5. This step is optional. If you want to make the shrinkydink into a key chain or a necklace, use a hole punch to make a hole in the shrinkydink. The hole will shrink too! If you want a pin, do not puncture a hole into it.
  6. Cut out your design and place it on a paper bag, cut out the middle and use that.
  7. Set the oven to what the instructions say. Wait for it to get to the temperature, and place them in the oven for what the instructions say. 1-3 minutes is what my craft teachers say. But if you want, you can do 3-4 minutes. The shrinkydinks will curl up, but that’s what they’re supposed to do. You will know that they’re done when they are flat after curling. Keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t bake to long.
  8. When they are done baking, let them cool, then take them out.
  9. If you made a hole, tie a string long enough to go around your neck through the hole. Or place a chain through the the hole, and it’s a necklace! Or you can place a charm clasp or a key ring through the hole as well. Move the shrinkydink in the ring/clasp  all the way, until it is loose and in the middle of it. Now it’s a key chain or charm!
  10. If you want it to be a pin to attach to your back pack, jacket, etc, you can take a hot glue gun, cold glue gun, or super glue and glue one to the back of the shrinkydink. Super glue works better even though it takes longer to dry, that is my recommendation/ preference. Wait for it to dry and put it on your back pack or whatever to show your friends. Now it’s a pin!

I hope you enjoyed this blog on how to make make your own shrinkydinks, necklace, key chain, charm, and pins. And you can now start calling me Makenzy if you’d like. This was really fun for me to make and I hope you understood the steps clearly. If not you can ask me your question/s in the description bow below. You can also attach photos of your creations and tell me how your experience making shrinkydinks was. You can also give me other ideas for blogs in the comments. I can do legos, bible, Harry Potter, crafts, and much more! Please tell your friends, family, and parents about my blogging channel, and tell them to tell others too! I’ll be blogging with you next time on, Christianforkids!

 Makenzy A. Carter

Author: christianforkids

I am 12 years old, I live in the USA. I want more people to learn about God and except him as their savior and friend. I have brown hair and brown eyes. I like to sing, dance, and act. I like to program robots and love typing, writing, and drawing. I'm very creative. I like baking and cooking. I love doing crafts and sharing ideas. And the name says what most of my blogs will be about. You can contact me if you have any questions and I will try to answer them as best as I can. You can always tell others about me. I am pretty busy, so you will hear a lot about that during my time while blogging. I hope that you have an amazing day and I love you so much! I will be praying for you, so please pray for me. I get most of my material from biblegateway.com. I get questions from my homeschooling website, which is why I even have a blog. And just a reminder, life is good.

1 thought on “How to Make Your Own Personalized ShrinkyDinks”

Leave a Reply

